Zagora is the most historic and largest village of northeastern Pelion and at an altitude of between 440m-540m it is blessed with amazing and panoramic views of the Aegean Sea.
At a distance of 47 km from Volos the village is truly a traditional with realms of character.

Initially it was developed around the Monastery of the Transfiguration of the Saviour and for many years it was referred to as the Saviour-Zagora until the second half of the 18th Century.
The original name of Zagora has roots in the Slavic language meaning simply ‘behind the mountains’.

Zagora could be classed as the forestry centre of Pelion; built on lush and green sun-soaked planes with running streams and elaborate fountains spread over four different regions of the mountain; Perochora, Agia Paraskevi (surrounding the temple of Agia Paraskevis), Agia Kyriaki (surrounding the church with the same name), Agio Giorgos (again named after the church it surrounds) and the Saviour (surrounding the Temple of the Transformation).

It is definitely worthwhile visiting all the main temples and their respective neighbor-hoods with pretty and traditional squares defining the centres of the village.

Originally the wealth from these places came from the silk production that was exported to Venice, Dalmation, Germany and other destinations in Europe, as well as the local craft of dyeing fabrics.

Alongside this the Zagorians built an extensive fleet of ships that sailed out from the famed harbor Horefeto and sailed the Mediterranean and the Black Sea to bringing in substantial commerce.

Zagora was also one of the main educational and spiritual centers since the early 18th Century. On the site of St John the Baptist they created the highest school for study (the Ellinomousio meaning Hellenic Museum), where great teachers such as Rigas Velestinlis taught.

The Hellenic Museum still exists and is now known as the Rigas’ School and is found in the St Georgios district. It is part of the original building that was destroyed by a fire in 1942. Another of the really important sites is the Zagora Library, itself dating from the 18th century it now hosts around 3,000 books, maps and documents from the 17th & 18th centuries.

The Agricultural Cooperative of Zagora was the first to be founded in Greece in 1915 and mainly handled potatoes, hazelnuts and the ‘render variety of apple. From the 1960’s is started to cultivate the red apples, distinguishable by their excellent scent and flavour. They are set apart by their well-known logo ZAGORIN and are registered internationally as a ‘protected designation of origin’. The Zagora Women’s Agricultural Cooperative produces jams and the ‘sweet of the spoon’ (preserved whole fruits in a sweet jelly), using traditional village recipes passed down through the generations from their grandmothers.

On the 8th August there is a celebration of Agios Triandaphyllos (the saint of the roses)

There is also the International Festival of Pelion; an expression of artistic and educational tourism enabling participants and their families to visit this unique area of beauty, combining the green mountain landscapes with the stunning, accessible beaches of the area.

A few kilometres from Zagora is the enormous sandy beach of Chorefto panorama icon and the beach of Agii Saranda panorama icon with its clear blue waters and lush green vegetation fringing the sands.

You can also swim on the deserted coasts of Parisaina, Analypsi, Elitsa and Obrios.


 

© 2018 www.zoominpelion.com All Rights Reserved. | designed by square design studio

Search