Milies, a picturesque mountain village, is the central one of the region. Very historic, it has traditional architecture; mansions, towers and stone built fountains situated on the incredibly green, lush slopes of Mount Pelion at an altitude of 400m and a distance of 28km east of Volos.
Leaving Volos on the coast road, passing Agria, Ano & Kato (Upper and Lower) Lehonia, Gatzea, Kala Nera and Koropi, we turn left and start the climb through lush green landscapes filled with apple, chestnut and olive trees. We can now enjoy the wonderful views across the Pagastiko Gulf and south Pelion to Milies.

Milies was connected by the railway line with Volos in 1903 and became the commercial centre of central Pelion. The railway line, built by Evaristo de Kiriko, father of the famous painter, Georgio de Kiriko, at the end of the 19th century was designated as a listed monument in 1985.
From 1996 it has run from the station Ano Lehonia panorama icon and terminates in the village of Ano Gatzea panorama icon with incredible panoramic views of all of the Pagastiko Gulf. The station of Milies is only for day trips now! The route is along (approx.) 16km of beautiful countryside and runs through the wonderful and unique natural vegetation of the area. The arched bridge of Evaristo de Kiriko is very impressive as are the other ones in the area, all with extensively elaborate architecture that can be enjoyed from April through to October.


The central square with the large plane tree offers incredible shade, even on the hottest days of summer and you can enjoy a coffee or meal under their cool umbrella. On the square there is the church of Pammegiston Taxiarchon panorama icon with its three aisled basilica and magnificent gold-plated wooden carved icon and interesting hagiographics, the Library, the Folklore Museum with Theophilos’ work on display, household crafts and working tools from past professions, the Eudoxiki Spirtual Center, the sculptor Nikolaos and an even a children’s playground under the ancient plane trees.
The stone paved cobbled streets start from this square, which after crossing the village, leads eventually to Tsangarada panorama icon through the beech forest, passing streams, bridges panorama icon and the church of St Dimitrios. It is a very easy path and takes around 4 hours. Another footpath passes from the historic train station and ends at the village of Kala Nera, panorama icon a total time of 2 hours, at 3km you will find Vizitsa panorama icon and at 5km, Pinakates. panorama icon
You can find special maps with all the footpaths of the area or you can participate in the organized excursions on offer with local guides. Close to the village is a large cave named by the locals as the ‘Cave of Chiron’.
Three well known residents of Milies were Anthimos Gazis, Gregorios Konstantas and Daniel Filipidis; three of the most important persons of the Neohellenic Enlightenment movement and founders of the ‘Milies School’, which was at the centre of the liberation struggle in 1821. The building was destroyed in 1943 when the Germans burned down the village.
The Public Library of Milies ‘Soul’ Akos, panorama icon which means the therapeutic soul, is connected historically with the School of Milies, which hosts thousands of books and old publications, physics and chemistry instruments, items from the museum and manuscripts from the scholars of the time are all on display.
On the 25th-27th July the Church of Agia Paraskevi celebrates its feast day with a large festival. Cultural events are organised mid-August, like the ‘Miliotiki Evening’, and as the end of August the ‘Night of the Pears’.

The little train of Pelion

Departing from the station of Ano Lehonia, panorama icon the little train of Pelion whistles its greeting, the slogan of the this unforgettable journey, as the ascent of the slopes of Mount Pelion begins!
One of the most narrows railway lines in the world (just 60 cm), it hosts the 4 wagons of ‘Moutzouri’, as the train of Pelion was once known, declaring its presence along the way with steam and the smoke it trails behind. From Ano Lehonia to Milies the route is mountainous crossing the verdant slopes with their dense vegetation of plane trees and holly.
The only stop is made for just 15 minutes from Ano Gatzea panorama icon before it continues ‘puffing’ and rocking its wagons for the total length of the 15km and 90 minute journey.
Once it reaches the historic capital village of Milies, the route is filled with lush views of the rich nature and architecture of the old, elaborately decorated marble and stone carvings on the bowed bridges, their arches and tunnels.
A unique example of unsurpassed architecture is the stone, five-arched bridge of Kalorema, in the area of Malaki. Approaching Milies the landscape has a wild beauty, particularly under the large, metal bridge of Taxiarchis or ‘De Chirico’, named after the designer and father of the great painter: at this point the train will appear to roll on the curved line, whilst the bridge appears to be straight.
At the station of Milies the terminates and from here the picturesque cobbled footpath begins leading to the centre of the village panorama icon with its traditional pensions, tavernas, the church of Taxiarchon built in 1741, the Folklore museum and the Library, one of the oldest in Greece; all awaiting the visitors of the train. The most picturesque railway in Greece will run a second time in the same day as it makes its return from Milies back to Ano Lehonia at 3 in the afternoon.

Route of the Train – Runs from Ano Lehonia – Milies
The train operates from spring until the autumn with a special circuit programme for a one day outing on the mountain route. The rest of the year it is possible to rent it by contacting the offices TRAINOSE in Volos.
Access to the railway station of Ano Lehonia, 12km from Volos, is from the road to Kala Nera, either by bus route no 5 on the Volos-Lehonia-Platanidia route, which it 50ms from the station, or by car, there is a large parking area in front of the station. There are brown signs indicating the station on the surrounding road network.
The road access to the Milies station is only by car and there are very limited parking places in the area of the station, which is also indicated by the brown signs from the main road to the station.

The history…
This historical train that previously had travelled between Volos and Milies also ran on this historic railway that had been built in 1892, with the first part reaching Lehonia delivered in 1896. The rest of the track until Milies was constructed continuing right up to the start of operation in 1903.

The supervision of the construction of the railway network was carried out by Evaristo de Chirico; father of the famous painter, Giorgio de Chirico, who was born in Volos. During the construction of the network, the younger De Kiriko’s observations in this medium later inspired the consistency and the style of his future creations.

Information on ticketing, itineraries and train rentals are provided by the Volos Travel Agency of TRAINOSE,

TEL/ Fax 24210 39723, e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or from the number 14511, which operates 24 hours a day and at www.trainose.gr


 

Our Suggestions for Milies.

Villa Ortansia

Villa Ortansia

Villa Kerasia

Villa Kerasia

 

Milies532
Milies 1
Milies 101
Milies 104
Milies 112
Milies 128
Milies 15
Milies 2
Milies 204
Milies 226
Milies 3
Milies 533
Milies 535
Milies 537
Milies 539
Milies 540
Milies 541
Milies 542
Milies 544
Milies 548
Milies 549
Milies 557
Milies 740
Milies 95
Milies Church Door 11
© 2018 www.zoominpelion.com All Rights Reserved. | designed by square design studio

Search